An Overview of roba Baumann GmbH's development

1927

Robert Baumann founds a white cooperage in Ebersdorf b. Coburg. After the WWII, the cooperage trade experienced a brief upswing before it came to a standstill in the course of the industrialisation that followed later. Wooden containers were replaced by containers made of sheet metal.

1952

The change to toy manufacturing became the cornerstone of today's roba Kinderwelt GmbH.

1957

Participation in the International Toy Fair in Nürnberg


1970s

The production of the first children's seating groups paved the way to becoming a children's furniture manufacturer. Expansion in the areas toys and furniture. roba takes its first steps toward international purchasing.


1985

Production of first children's furniture worlds in Hungary in cooperation with the company Tisza Bútoripari Vállalat RT.

Start of production of wood products in Indonesia.

1990's

Gradual relocation of timber production to China, the first joint venture.
Development of the company as a full-range provider through the continuous expansion of our product range for home textiles, baby supplies and travel products.

Internationalisation of roba sales.


2002

Relaunch of the roba brand presence: presentation of a new corporate identity and corporate design.

Introduction of the roba motto “Discovering chidren's worlds“ and reappearance of the homepage www.roba-kinderwelt.de

September 2004

The roba Baumann GmbH expands its product range: with the acquisition of the Hungarian kitchen and furniture company Tisza Bútoripari Vállat RT in Europe, roba acquires new production and distribution channels. The focus of the new corporate strategy is on high-quality children's and youth furniture, which are produced in Hungary on the highest technical level and sold directly on the European market as a home solution—furniture that grows with your child.

2004/2005

roba Baumann GmbH opens a new chapter in its company history with the founding of "Zheijang Dequing roba Furniture Co. Ltd". At the new location, 800 employees produce roba brand products, which are characterized by quality, safety and design suitable for children. These are intended to invite children to "discover children's worlds" and to promote the beautiful, shared moments of closeness between parent and child. The main reasons for the investment in the new production facility are, in addition to a further optimisation of product quality, an increase in production capacity and the prompt supply of all roba distribution channels with safe, trendy products. With Zheijang Dequing roba Furniture Co. Ltd, the entire production from the sawmill to assembly and painting are united under one roof. This will allow production steps from forestry to the final product to be perfectly coordinated and will make the company largely independent of suppliers.

October 2009

Relocation and expansion to Feldstraße 14, 96237 Ebersdorf b. Coburg

2015

Establishment of organic, solid beech wood baby accessory production in Europe

2016

Modernisation of “ROBA-TISZA” Kft. production facilities

2017

Construction of a new warehouse and logistics centre in Hungary in close proximity to production facilities

Today

Management of the company by the 4th generation of the Thimm family

With over 90 years of experience, roba is the leading manufacturer of brand-name furniture, toys and accessories, and continues to have new ideas for parents and businesses.

Entwicklung der roba Baumann GmbH im Überblick

1927

Gründung einer Weißbüttnerei durch Robert Baumann, Ebersdorf bei Coburg. Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg erlebte das Büttnerhandwerk noch einmal einen kurzen Aufschwung, bevor es im Zuge der später folgenden Industrialisierung zum Erliegen kam. Behälter aus Holz wurden durch Behälter aus Blech ersetzt.

1952

Der Wandel zum Spielwarenproduzenten bildete den Grundstein der heutigen roba Kinderwelt GmbH.

1957

Teilnahme an der Internationalen Spielwarenmesse, Nürnberg

 

1970er Jahre

Produktion der ersten Kindersitzgruppen ebnet Weg zum Kindermöbelhersteller.
Ausbau der Geschäftsbereiche Spielwaren und Möbel.
Start der Internationalisierung des Einkaufs.

 

1985

Produktion erster Kindermöbelwelten in Ungarn in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Küchen- und Möbelkonzerns Tisza Bútoripari Vállalat RT.

Beginn der Herstellung von Holzprodukten in Indonesien

1990er Jahre

Sukzessive Verlagerung der Holzproduktion nach China, Gründung erster Joint Ventures. 
Entwicklung des Unternehmens zum Komplettanbieter durch kontinuierliche Ausweitung des Produktprogramms um Heimtextilien, Babyzubehör und Reiseartikel.

Internationalisierung des roba Vertriebs.

 

2002

Relaunch des roba Markenauftritts: Vorstellung der neuen Corporate Identity und des Corporate Designs.

Einführung des roba Leitmotivs „Kinderwelten entdecken“ und Neuauftritt der Homepage www.roba-kinderwelt.de

September 2004

Die roba Baumann GmbH erweitert ihr Produktprogramm und geht mit der Übernahme des ungarischen Küchen- und Möbelkonzerns Tisza Bútoripari Vállat RT in Europa neue Produktions- und Vertriebswege. Im Fokus der neuen Unternehmensstrategie stehen hochwertige Kinder- und Jugendmöbel, die in Ungarn auf höchstem technischem Niveau produziert und als flexibel mitwachsende Komplettlösungen direkt in den europäischen Markt vertrieben werden.

2004/2005

Die roba Baumann GmbH schlägt in ihrer Firmengeschichte mit der Gründung der „Zheijang Dequing roba Furniture Co.Ltd“ ein neues Kapitel auf. An dem neuen Standort werden zukünftig 800 Mitarbeiter roba Markenprodukte herstellen, die sich durch Qualität, Sicherheit und kindgerechtem Design auszeichnen. Diese sollen zum „Kinderwelten entdecken“ einladen und die schönen, gemeinsamen Momente der Nähe zwischen Eltern und Kind fördern. Hauptgründe für die Investition in die neue Produktionsstätte sind neben einer weiteren Optimierung der Produktqualität, eine Erhöhung der Produktionskapazität sowie die zeitnahe Belieferung aller roba Vertriebswege mit sicheren, trendgerechten Produkten. Mit der Zheijang Dequing roba Furniture Co.Ltd wird vom Sägewerk, über die Montage bis zur Lackierung die gesamte Produktion zukünftig unter einem Dach vereint. Dies ermöglicht Produktionsschritte vom Rundholz bis zum Endprodukt zeitlich perfekt aufeinander abzustimmen und macht von Zulieferern weitgehend unabhängig.

Oktober 2009

Umzug und Erweiterung in die Feldstraße 14, 96237 Ebersdorf bei Coburg

2015

Aufbau der Produktion Bio-Babyzubehör aus Massivholz Buche in Europa

2016

Modernisierung des Produktionsparks bei roba Tisza KFT

2017

Bau eines Lager-& Logistikzentrums in Ungarn in unmittelbarer Produktionsnähe

Heute

Leitung der Firma in 4. Generation durch die Inhaberfamilie

Mit über 93 Jahren Erfahrung ist roba führender Hersteller von Markenmöbeln, Spielzeug und Accessoires und liefert Ideen für Eltern und Handel.